The North Carolina Downtown Development Association is the leader in education and advocacy for economic growth and development in North Carolina’s downtowns.  NCDDA is a 501(c)(4) nonprofit professional membership organization that is led by a 21-member volunteer board of directors, which meets quarterly.  Members include downtown development managers, coordinators and Main Street managers; economic developers; town planners; town managers; architects; landscape architects; developers; and other professions related to the development of North Carolina’s downtowns.

NCDDA Board of Directors

President (2021-2023)
Zack Matheny, President & CEO
Downtown Greensboro, Inc.

President-Elect (2021-2023)
Kimberly Van Dyk, Director of Downtown Development and Director of Planning and Community Revitalization
City of Wilson

Past-President (2021-2023)
Mary Rose, Planning Director and Main Street Director
City of Clinton

Secretary (2022-2024)
Rick Thurmond, Senior VP of Community & Economic Development
Charlotte City Center Partners

Treasurer (2021-2023)
Kathleen Patterson, Town Manager
Town of Mayodan

VP Governmental Affairs (2021-2023)
Jeff Murison, President & CEO
Hillsborough Street Community Services Corporation

VP Membership (2021-2023)
Bianca Shoneman, President & CEO
Cool Spring Street Downtown District

VP Education (2022-2024)
Kellli Laudate, Executive Director
Downtown Sanford, Inc.

Western Region Director (2021-2023)
Amy Bridges, Downtown Community Development Manager
Town of Forest City

Northwest Region Director (2021-2023)
Amy Ogle, Executive Director
Hickory Downtown Development Association

Piedmont-Triad Director (2022-2024)
Lizzie Morrison, Executive Director
Mount Airy Downtown, Inc.

North Central Director (2022-2024)
Sarah Edwards, Executive Director
Downtown Smithfield Development Corporation

Northeast Region (2022-2024)
Margaret “Meg” Howdy, Executive Director
Washington Downtown Harbor Alliance

Southwest Region Director (2021-2023)
Johnson Bray, Downtown Development Manager
City of Concord

South Central Region Director (2021-2023)

Southeast Director (2021-2023)
Lynne Harakal, Executive Director
Swiss Bear, Inc.

Large Cities Director (2022-2024)
Bill King, President & CEO
Downtown Raleigh Alliance

Associate Director – Community Member (2022-2024)
Wilson Lester, Partner
Partners in Equity

Associate Director – Corporate Member (2022-2024)
Patrick Reilly, President & CEO
Rehab Development, Inc.

Associate Director – Professional Member (2022-2024)
David Maurer, President
Maurer Architecture

Associate Director – Associate Member (2022-2024)
Jennings Gray, Senior Retail Development Specialist


Jason Epley, Executive Director

NOTE: The region director positions align with the NC Commerce Prosperity Zones.

Phone: 704.305.4381
PO Box 3392
Salisbury, NC 28145